Research in Film Awards returns with two new categories


The AHRC Research in Film Awards are returning for its fourth year with two new categories focused on migration and social media.


The two new awards for 2018 are:

  • The People on the Move Award: Stories of New Beginnings
  • Social Media Short Award

The competition closes on Thursday 14 June at 16:00 hours. 


These awards are designed to recognise and reward the considerable body of work created at the interface between research and film and to acknowledge the world-leading work of arts and humanities researchers and practitioners.


There are five categories in total, including four aimed at the research community and one open to the general public – the only proviso is that the film must have been inspired by the arts and humanities. This offers a fantastic opportunity for members of the public to be involved while receiving recognition for their work.


The winning filmmakers in each category will receive £2,000 towards their filmmaking activities and will be honoured at an awards ceremony on Thursday 8 November at the prestigious 195 Piccadilly in London, the home of BAFTA.


The films will be judged by a panel of academic and film industry experts, chaired by Jan Dalley, Arts Editor of the Financial Times. Entrants have until 4pm on Thursday 14 June to apply.


For more information about the awards visit the AHRC website and follow #RIFA2018 on Twitter.


Enter the Research in Film Awards